Letting Go of Fear

I finally did it. After months and months of dragging my feet, I finally launched my etsy shop! It was such a long process–creating enough inventory, taking photos of my pieces, researching pricing, and writing listing descriptions. I was getting anxiety from doing all of this and the doubts came pouring in.

What did I get myself into? I don’t know anything about business. Am I really an artist? What if no one buys my pieces? Am I good enough?

And that’s when it hit me. The real reason why I delayed in setting up an etsy shop was because I was scared. Scared of rejection and scared of asking. I was conflicted because I had a difficult time identifying myself as an artist. I don’t have the education nor do I have the experience. I took a few classes at the studio and basically taught myself how to make pottery through trial and error. It was extremely vulnerable to let go of my pieces and to put it out there for the world to see especially when I put so much love and care into each piece that I create. On top of all that, I am asking for money for my work. I honestly wouldn’t have been able to set aside these fears without the support of Ryan and my friend, Michelle. They believed in me and encouraged me to open up my shop.

I haven’t fully let go of these fears yet but I am working on it because in doing so, I allow space for creative and personal growth. There is still some uncertainty and I am okay with that. However, there is one thing that I am certain about…

I am an artist. I am a potter.

Spice Pot with Spoon

Published by

Michelle Luu

My journey into pottery.

10 thoughts on “Letting Go of Fear”

  1. Omg I read your blog and what was the first picture you put?!? The PIECE I BOUGHT! love it cousin! You are an AWESOME artist. Can’t wait to use my Michelle Luu masterpiece! ❤

  2. Beautiful pieces and photography, well done for being courageous and sharing your passion with the world and for having great friends who have encouraged you. Your work is very beautiful, bonne continuation!

Leave a Reply

